What is the Sacrament of Eucharist?

Those who now have the dignity of the royal priesthood by Baptism participate with the whole community in the Holy Eucharist: the memorial, sacrifice, and banquet of the Lord Jesus Christ.  The Eucharist completes the sacraments of initiation but afterwards continues to be the “source and summit” of the Christian life.

The Eucharist is primarily a sacrificial offering, in memory of Jesus Christ, his death and resurrection, through the visible sign of communion: eating & drinking the Body and Blood of the resurrected Lord (Real Presence).  It is the greatest sign of unity and the most “visible expression of the Church”.

Traditionally, from its roots in Jewish tradition, the Eucharist is a public act of worship of praise & thanksgiving that must lead us to live the sacrificial love of Christ in service of others (John 13:1-15 – Gospel of Holy Thursday)

The celebration on every Sunday Eucharist, the Lord’s Day of Resurrection, is an obligation for all Catholics.  “Full, conscious, and active participation is demanded” from all the faithful at all Eucharistic gatherings.  (CSL #14)

Read More: Catechism of the Catholic Church (1322-1381)

Also: Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy

Eucharist at Holy Faith Catholic Church

Children’s First Communion

RCIA (Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults)

What about Sunday?